Programmatic advertising is the use of software to buy and sell digital ad inventory, through real-time auctions or through negotiated deals at a fixed price. It describes how a transaction happens, not where an ad appears or which format it uses.
That distinction starts to matter the moment money moves. A single programmatic purchase leaves at least three records behind: the deal that set the terms, the delivery events that decided what got billed, and the seller path that shows who was allowed to sell the impression. Each record answers a different question, and together they tell you what a campaign actually bought.
The most common misreading treats programmatic as a synonym for real-time bidding. It is broader than that. Google Ad Manager's documentation lists programmatic transactions as including Programmatic Guaranteed, Preferred Deals, Open Bidding, and Ad Exchange auctions, and it describes Programmatic Direct as a feature that automates the negotiation and sale of a publisher's direct-sold inventory (vendor documentation, VERIFIED). Auctions are one route. Negotiated, fixed-price agreements are another.
Programmatic is also not an ad format. Display, video, and connected TV inventory can each be bought programmatically or through a manual insertion order. The label says how the parties transacted, nothing about creative or placement quality.
For a sense of scale, the IAB and PwC put US programmatic advertising revenue at $162.4 billion for full-year 2025, up 20.5% from 2024 (REPORTED: industry association revenue report prepared with PwC, United States only). It is a single-market revenue figure, not a global market size.
A demand-side platform (DSP) works for the buyer, a supply-side platform (SSP) works for the seller, and an exchange connects them; the OpenRTB implementation guide describes the exchange selecting a winning bid and notifying that bidder (technical standard, VERIFIED for the exchange role; DSP and SSP roles REPORTED). Commercial products often bundle these roles. The auction sequence is covered in the Real-time Bidding (RTB) entry, and marketplace mechanics in the Ad Exchange entry.
How the four programmatic transaction types in Google Ad Manager differ on buyer access, inventory reservation, pricing and delivery commitment, using Google's labels, which other platforms may name differently.
| Buying method | Who can buy | Inventory reserved? | How the price is set | Delivery commitment | Source / label |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Open auction | Any eligible buyer can bid on an impression | No | Auction | Non-guaranteed, non-reserved transaction | Google Ad Manager Help (vendor documentation, VERIFIED) |
| Private auction (grouped as private marketplace, PMP, in industry benchmarks) | Only invited buyers can bid | No | Auction | Non-guaranteed, non-reserved transaction | Google Ad Manager Help (vendor documentation, VERIFIED); PMP label per ANA Programmatic Transparency Benchmark (REPORTED) |
| Preferred deal | The buyer gets a first, or "preferred," opportunity to bid at the negotiated price when an ad request arrives | No; the seller can still reserve that inventory for another buyer | Negotiated in advance, fixed | Buyer is not obliged to buy; the deal secures a price and a first look, not volume | Google Ad Manager Help, "Programmatic Guaranteed vs. Preferred Deals" (vendor documentation, VERIFIED) |
| Programmatic Guaranteed | One buyer | Yes, reserved for that buyer | Negotiated in advance, under negotiated terms | Contractually obligated to deliver under the agreed terms; closest to a traditional direct buy, with delivery and reconciliation automated | Google Ad Manager Help, "Programmatic Guaranteed vs. Preferred Deals" (vendor documentation, VERIFIED) |
Google's documentation sorts programmatic transactions by two questions. Is the inventory reserved for a specific buyer? And is the price negotiated in advance or set by an auction? The labels below follow Google Ad Manager's terminology; other platforms may name similar arrangements differently.
In an open auction, any eligible buyer can bid on an impression. A private auction limits bidding to invited buyers. In both cases the inventory is not reserved for anyone, and Google's documentation places both under non-guaranteed, non-reserved transactions (vendor documentation, VERIFIED).
Industry benchmarks group invitation-only buying under the label private marketplace (PMP). The ANA's Q3 2025 benchmark reported that PMPs accounted for 81.6% of programmatic spend, and its Q4 2025 benchmark reported PMPs at more than 92% of median spend across environments (REPORTED: ANA participant benchmark developed with TAG TrustNet and Fiducia, geography not disclosed). The two quarters use different measures, so the gap is not a growth rate, and both describe benchmark participants only.
A preferred deal fixes a negotiated price, but it does not reserve the inventory and it does not oblige the buyer to purchase anything. Google describes the buyer as getting an initial, or "preferred," opportunity to bid at the negotiated price when an ad request arrives (vendor documentation, VERIFIED). The seller can still reserve that inventory for another buyer. A preferred deal secures a price and a first look, not volume.
Programmatic Guaranteed reserves inventory for one buyer, at a negotiated price, under negotiated terms. Google's documentation describes guaranteed campaigns as contractually obligated to deliver based on those terms, while non-guaranteed campaigns are not (vendor documentation, VERIFIED). It is the closest programmatic equivalent to a traditional direct buy, with delivery and reconciliation automated.
An analysis of the three records behind every programmatic purchase, showing the question each one answers, what to check, and where its proof stops.
| Record | Question it answers | What to check | What it does not prove | Label / basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Deal | What was promised: was inventory reserved or merely offered, was the price fixed or set impression by impression, and was the buyer obliged to take delivery? | Confirm the buying method of each line item first; a team that reads a preferred deal as guaranteed volume will misread every underdelivery report | What actually ran, or what the advertising caused | Analysis, based on Google Ad Manager Help (vendor documentation, VERIFIED) |
| Delivery | When does a win become billable? | Which event triggers the charge; OpenRTB separates the win notice from the billing notice, and most parties treat an ad as billable on some form of delivery or rendering, not the auction win alone; buyers also use the billing notice to pace budgets and count frequency caps | That the impression was useful; the ANA counts an impression as benchmark-qualified only when it is fraud-free, measurable, viewable and not on a made-for-advertising (MFA) site | Analysis, based on IAB Tech Lab OpenRTB implementation guide (technical standard, VERIFIED) and ANA Programmatic Transparency Benchmark (REPORTED) |
| Seller path | Who was allowed to sell the impression? | ads.txt for the sellers a publisher authorizes, sellers.json for the sellers an SSP or exchange represents, and the SupplyChain object for the entities that handled the bid request | Suitability or results; an impression can arrive through a fully authorized path and still sit next to content a brand would avoid, or reach people who would have bought anyway | Analysis, based on IAB Tech Lab announcement of sellers.json and the SupplyChain object, April 11, 2019 (standards body announcement, VERIFIED) |
Every programmatic report and invoice rests on three separate records that often share one interface. Pulling them apart turns "did this campaign work?" into three questions with checkable answers.
The deal record tells you what the seller committed to. Was the inventory reserved, or merely offered? Was the price fixed or set impression by impression? Was the buyer obliged to take delivery? A team that thinks it bought guaranteed volume through a preferred deal will misread every underdelivery report. Confirm the buying method of each line item first.
Winning an auction and paying for an impression are different events. The OpenRTB implementation guide separates the win notice, sent when a bid wins, from a billing notice, fired when the clearing price is booked as spend, and notes that most parties consider an ad billable upon some form of delivery or rendering rather than the auction win alone (technical standard, VERIFIED). Buyers also use the billing notice to pace budgets and count frequency caps. The question for any platform: which event triggers this charge?
A billable impression is still not the same as a useful one. The ANA's benchmark counts an impression as "benchmark-qualified" only when it is fraud-free, measurable, viewable, and not on a made-for-advertising (MFA) site (REPORTED: ANA participant benchmark, geography not disclosed). In its Q3 2025 release, the ANA reported MFA domains at 0.39% of programmatic spend, a share it described as down by half since Q2 (REPORTED: spend share, not impression share or share of websites). Delivery checks of this kind sit alongside invalid-traffic controls discussed in the Ad Fraud entry, and alongside viewability measurement.
The third record concerns the route an impression took to reach the buyer. IAB Tech Lab released sellers.json and the OpenRTB SupplyChain object for public comment on April 11, 2019, building on the earlier ads.txt and app-ads.txt specifications to extend transparency to SSPs and exchanges (standards body announcement, VERIFIED). In practice, ads.txt lets a publisher declare which sellers are authorized to sell its inventory, sellers.json lets an SSP or exchange identify the sellers it represents, and the SupplyChain object records the entities that handled a given bid request.
These files answer an authorization question, not a suitability or results question. An impression can arrive through a fully authorized path and still sit next to content a brand would avoid, or reach people who would have bought anyway.
Programmatic buying does not require third-party cookies for every transaction, but identifier use is more layered than "cookies on" or "cookies off."
Google's documentation for non-personalized ads states that these ads do not use cookies or mobile ad identifiers for ad targeting, but still use them for frequency capping, aggregated ad reporting, and combating fraud and abuse (vendor documentation, VERIFIED, Google products only). For programmatic transactions carrying a non-personalized signal, ads served through Display & Video 360 use only contextual and placement targeting. "Non-personalized" therefore describes how an ad was selected. It does not mean no identifier was involved anywhere in the transaction.
Display & Video 360 applies frequency caps across apps or connected TV apps when a device identifier is passed in the bid request, and it uses modeling and historical data to estimate caps when cookies or device IDs are unavailable (vendor documentation, VERIFIED, Google products only). A cap reported on modeled data is an estimate, and it should be read as one.
On October 17, 2025, Google announced it would retire most Privacy Sandbox technologies, including Topics, Protected Audience, and the Attribution Reporting API, citing low adoption, while keeping CHIPS, FedCM, and Private State Tokens and maintaining Chrome's existing approach of giving users a choice about third-party cookies (company announcement, VERIFIED). In the United Kingdom, the Competition and Markets Authority released Google from its Privacy Sandbox commitments the same day (regulator decision, VERIFIED). In the United States, a September 16, 2026 Department of Justice release stated that the court in United States et al. v. Google LLC (Eastern District of Virginia) ordered integrations between Google's AdX and DFP and the open-source Prebid framework, real-time bids from AdX into competing publisher ad servers, publisher data export from DFP and AdX, and a monitor with a technical committee for six years (government statement by a party to the case, VERIFIED as the department's account). Published estimates of how much publishers lose without third-party cookies also differ from study to study, so any single figure deserves caution.
There is no universal price for programmatic advertising. Cost depends on buying method, inventory, data, and bundled services. Most media is quoted on a cost per mille (CPM) basis, but two CPMs are only comparable when both sides agree on what event is billed and which charges sit outside the quoted media price. A cheap CPM on impressions that fail delivery checks can cost more per useful impression than a higher one.
Auction rules have historically been hard for buyers to inspect. In January 2026 the Media Rating Council issued final Digital Advertising Auction Transparency Standards, setting requirements for transparency, disclosure, and reporting of digital advertising auctions, with the stated aim of promoting transparency around auction rules and scoring (industry standard, VERIFIED). Operators submit to MRC auditing voluntarily, so it is fair to ask a vendor whether it has been audited against them.
Deal, delivery, and seller-path checks establish what ran and on what terms. None of them shows what the advertising caused. Marketing attribution assigns credit for conversions, which helps reporting but does not prove additional sales.
Peer-reviewed research shows why the distinction matters. Gordon, Moakler, and Zettelmeyer analyzed 663 large-scale advertising experiments at Facebook, published in Marketing Science in 2023, and concluded that state-of-the-art observational methods could not reliably recover the causal effect of the advertising, even with access to more than 5,000 user and experiment features (peer-reviewed journal, VERIFIED). The study covers one platform, not programmatic performance. Still, if rich platform data could not reproduce experimental results, an attributed return from an open-web campaign deserves equal skepticism.
Where the budget justifies it, the stronger approach is an experiment that compares exposed and held-out groups, the method behind incrementality testing. Keep that result separate from delivery reports, so a clean log is never mistaken for business impact.
Programmatic advertising is the broader category of automated buying and selling. Real-time bidding is one auction-based way to transact within it. Programmatic also includes preferred deals and Programmatic Guaranteed, where terms are agreed before delivery.
A DSP works for buyers, evaluating inventory and bidding for them. An SSP works for publishers, managing how inventory is offered. An exchange connects the two, and many products combine these roles.
A preferred deal sets a negotiated price but does not reserve inventory, and the buyer is not required to buy. Programmatic Guaranteed reserves inventory for one buyer at a negotiated price, and the campaign is contractually obligated to deliver under the agreed terms.
No. Contextual and placement targeting can select inventory without personal identifiers. In Google's systems, however, non-personalized ads still use cookies or device identifiers for frequency capping, aggregated reporting, and fraud prevention, so "no targeting cookies" is not the same as "no identifiers."
There is no standard price. Cost depends on the buying method, the inventory, the data and services included, and which event triggers billing. Compare quotes only after confirming what each price covers and which event is billed.
We use cookies to ensure the website runs optimally and to help us understand how you use our services. You can choose which categories to allow. Read our Privacy Policy.
Required for basic website functionality. Cannot be disabled.
Help us understand how visitors interact with the website. Data used anonymously.
Used to display relevant ads and measure campaign effectiveness.
Enables live chat, social media integrations, and language preferences.